"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

In today's society, living in megacities full of people, we think that it is necessary to compete for others in our daily lives, even for fulfilling our basic needs. We need to compete to be placed in a renowned university, we need to compete for a job with a high salary. Most people believe that they need to be fast and better than others to obtain what they need, perceiving life as if it is a race. However, the importance of competition for getting what you want, which is being a leader in government, industry, or other fields in our case, is questionable. Increased importance of the sense of competition in a society instead of competition can be more beneficial because of the following reasons.

First of all, the belief about a need of competition for getting what you want can be dangerous for mental health of the population. People tend to work more and more hours, leaving them a little time to rest both physically and mentally. In current workplaces, employees generally work for 45 hours or more for a week. Those who are more ambitious, spend more time while working to perform better than others. Therefore, they are left with less amount of time to spend with their families and beloved ones. Since they cannot reduce their stress level, their mental health will be adversely affected.

Secondly, recent research shows that teamwork boost the overall performance of people. Thus, to prepare the young generation for leadership positions and improve their work performance, the society can instill in them a sense of cooperation. While working in teams, people will also learn from others, for example the way others work. They can enrich themselves with observing different perspectives. For example, some students learn better from their peers instead of their instructors.

Lastly, a good leader is a person who communicate well with its team. The importance of the good communication is unquestionable for a team to success. Thus, a person who is trained in a cooperative environment will be more successful in understanding his or her team's need and navigating them to achieve their goals.

To sum up, in contrast with the general tendency of people to compete with others in order to have better positions for them in government or industry, this could be harmful for both individuals and society in general. A cooperative environment can be conducive for people to improve their abilities such as communication. Moreover, with cooperation, people can achieve more and better goals that cannot be achieved with competition.