A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The argument broached in this prompt forces us to think that, is the same national curriculum required for each and every student studying in schools? literally all students? The idea presented in this case is too extreme and may not benefit every part and level of school. As various factor are considered while making a curriculum like. budget, location, research, availability of faculties etc. Hence, it would be too rigid to say that every school should follow the same curriculum.

Consider, for example, the case of Sachin Tendulkar: a well known Indian cricketer. If he would have been forced to take part in every curricular activity instead of taking part in his own interest , he may have not reached the pinnacle of cricket of what he is today. Strict curriculum hampers learning ability of students and restricts them to think independently. Similarly, considering the case of Ramanujam: an Indian mathematician who is known as the "Man who knew infinity". If he would have benn not allowed to carry his research in mathematics and instead would have followed the curriculum which is generalized for every student then, we would have not known him for a genius he is considered today.

It can also be a scenario of precocious and extraordinary students, who have proved themselves worthy of higher studies. Hence, there is no point in making them study the mundane and boring subjects which they are not even interested in. For example, In my high school, there was a student, who was quite good in computer programming. Almost every teacher in the school knew that and urged him, supported him to take part in cyber olympiad: an off curriculum exam. As a result, he was able to showcase his talents in a larger platform than school and eventually was selected to represent our country in international level.

However, it might be the case that, a student who is undecided about his future. In this situation, a general curriculum gives direction to students to explore various aspects of education and help them select the best field of their interest. However, a very rigid curriculum can still be more harmful than it is beneficial. Also, rigid curriculum may prove beneficial in primary and pre-primary school where students are too young to decide career or profession to themselves.

In the conclusion, same national curriculum would benefit the students who are undecided and unaware of what they will choose in career but it would hamper the growth of precocious and good student . So, a slight rigid curriculum is required to give direction to students and not interfering to their thinking and passion.