The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

While the argument states that by offering a free tuition policy, new professors will be attracted towards Seatown, it fails to mention the necessary to support the claim. it assumes that the free tuition is the only factor luring new professors and enhancing the morale among the faculty.

The first major assumption is that, the Oceania university and Seatown are the same in every prospect. It may be possible that they differ in many aspects including- infrastructure, location, tuition fee. Thus, it is not prudent to claim that what is true for Oceania will be true for Seatown. However, if sufficient evidence is provided like the extent of similarities between the universities considering research opportunities, infrastructure then it can create a cogent case.

For the free-tuition policy to work, it is necessary to know the economical condition or budget of the college. If college is not getting a significant amount of funding from investors or the government than free-tuition policy may be deleterious for the university's economy. If it would have given that the investment income of the college and other sources of funding then the argument would have stood valid.

Additionally, it is also assumed that the free-tuition policy is the only factor attracting the new professors. it may be plausible that other features of Oceania University like amenities, research scope, salary of professors can be affecting factors in this case. If it would have provided evidence that the professors are only attracted to Oceania for its free-tuition policy then it would have been safe to assume that this policy will also benefit seatown professors, considering both the universities are same on other aspects.

lastly, it is stated that given this policy, the professors' morale will be enhanced. To justify this claim it is important to evaluate the number of professors this policy is actually affecting. For example, it may be possible that a lot of professors children are of the age to study in college, the argument is justified that that policy will affect professors greatly. However, if the number of professors is less whose children are studying in college than it would seriously weaken the argument.

In order to correctly evaluate the argument, necessary evidences are required to support each cause.