Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Higher education has become the need of the day. In almost every part of the world people are now aware of the advantages of studying in college/university. Students have realised the importance of post high school education. Most of the jobs now require a broad outlook of not only theoretical education, but practical education also. This exposure can be achieved by making students to spend at least a semester or two in foreign university, where it is possible for the college or university to provide the above-mentioned facility.

Today, the world is changing at a fast pace, and it is becoming almost mandatory for the people to keep up with this pace. In India, it has now becoming a trend to send students to a foreign university to expand their knowledge about their particular area of interest. Colleges like IITs and NITs have recently started to offer this opportunity to its students. As a result, more colleges in India are adopting the same culture. This culture confers a lot of advantages to the students: they get to know work culture, education system of another country, they get the chance to interact with their fellow students in the country which greatly helps them to widen the field of their study and knowledge.

Nowadays, various Companies, especially in technological sector tend to hire those candidates who have had exposure to foreign environment. This is so because, foreign culture teaches a person to adapt and learn new skills which may not be that much explored in their native country. Multinational organisations like Google, yahoo, Sony, Samsung etc, prefer candidates who possess experience of studying in a foreign country. Recently, during an interview for a multinational corporation, my friend was asked if he had any experience of foreign education, he was quick to answer that he studied two semesters in one of the universities in Taiwan. He passed in that interview, and he told me that foreign education was one of the contributing factor in passing that interview.

Nonetheless, there are many universities which cannot exercise the same culture. Reasons behind this can be many like, lack of funding, investments, college tie-ups etc. Many lower level colleges in India fail to provide the same chance to its students. Also, there are many students who cannot afford to study outside their native country. However, if the State government is willing to invest capital to these colleges, then this problem can certainly be solved.

The rate of development is increasing day by day and, it has now become important to let our generation get the exposure they need in order to excel in field of their study. There may be many constraints which prevent students from going into foreign countries to study, but these constraints can be overcome by proper funding, investment and with the help of government. So, colleges should encourage students to spend a minimum of one semester studying in a foreign country.