Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

The statement talks about how natural sites should be presevered by passing legislations for it but emphasizes less on the growth for the economy of the country.

One can easily point out that, currently we are living in a industrialized arena, ever since the industrial revolution took place back in 1760. The concept of industrializtion presents enormous oportunities to countries and nations to flourish their way to economic solvency. Now, if we were to grow more industrialized, there is a certain toll to it. Forestlands are cut to make space for the giant plants. But no one can deny the importance of the industry building, even if it comes with a little cost.

However, Natural diversity is also important. I mean, after all, this is our home planet. If we go on destroying the mother nature, the result should not look good, as evidenced by recent examples of natural disasters all over the world.

Then again, with the tide of modernization and global sophistication, we can see countries spending billions of dollars to constructions of different kinds of infrastructures such as hotels, restaurants, theme parks etc. The revenue generated from these sources are humongous. So, if someone wants to keep competence, they ought to do the exact same thing. And what would that entail? destroying forestlands!

But, a balance between both can be achieved with a little dedication.

I think, to some extent, every country needs to be industrialized and they should make use of their greenlands to do so. Also, the revenue they should generate from the economic growth should be spent in a portion for the protection of the remaining lands.