Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In time of strife when the nation is struggling finacially, the citizens are the people who become most affected. The argument presented states that nations should eliminate government fundings for the arts when there are citizens who are unemployed or hungry. I strongly agree with this position due to the serious implications poverty has on the well- being of humans. The art industry does not provide citizens with the adequate means to survive. Additionally, school children would benfit more by being able to have a meal at shcool rather than be able to participate in school art programs.

Poeple in every nation need food to survive and they require money to buy that food.Pouring thousands if not millions of dollars into art programs will not feed those people.For example, in the Hollywood industry millions of dollars are spent to make one single film, and depending on the popularity of that film it will make millions of dollars, most of which goes to the actors and studio. What if that amount of money would instead go to feeding the poor and providing housing for the homeless in the U.S.? The basic needs of those people will be met and therefore contribute to their well-being.

Some might argue that suspending funding for the arts might eliminate art programs for school children. However, does their ability to play an instrument or go to dance class trump over their right to have have a meal at school and at home. For example, recently in a state in the U.S, a school district was planning to implement a policy in which children who own large amount of lunch debt would not be able to eat lunch and instead would be given a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a water. In this case providing children with food to eat while in school where they sepnt more than half of their day is more important than letting them keeep the ability to play an instrument for the school band. By investing that money to provide chidlren with adequate and healthy food, they will have their needs met in a time of hunger and poverty.

There is much to conider when a nation has many citizens who are out of jobs and struggling. Suspending government funding for the arts would be a great place to begin placing resources where they are needed. The art of making movies is a billion dollar industry which if used towards providing housing for the homeless and needy, could greatly benefit the citizens of the nation. Even in this day in age children and their family can't afford to pay for school lunch, therefore, allocating funding for art to our schools will also benefit and contribute to the well-being of the future citizens of this nation.