In order for any work of art-for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song-to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people. This could be true in many aspects but need not be for all since each in its own way is unique by itself. Even though understanding is of prime importance, other factors should also be taken into account to make the argument conclusive. Let us take a look at each one of it.

films rule the world today as people are glued to television for entertainment purpose which could also be witnessed by means of the crowding of people in cinema halls. The success of a film is contributed by various factors like actors, comedians, director, song sequence, story and screenplay. Moreover, a film is considered to be a superhit purely because of the actors who are famous due to many superhit movies. Similarly, the film could be a huge success if it was directed by a well-known and noteworthy person. So, whether the storyline is understood or not is a secondary fact as viewers just want the movie to be entertaining and passing time.

Secondly, when it comes to novels, since picturisation is completely missing and we can only visualise it, novels need to be understood. only then a clarity would have been acquired. For instance, the famous book Harry Potter written by J.K. Rowling was made 100% understandable only after it was made in the form of a movie. also, the success of a novel could result only when the story is concise, few characters in the plot and not too many twists and turns.

Thirdly, when it comes to poems and songs, one could notice a huge amount of fan followers for william Wordsworth and william Shakespeare though their writings are interpreted by a very few people. Nevertheless, success does not give to the fullest possible extent as more importance are given to lyrics, music and the person who sung the song.

Thus, to conclude, we can say that, understanding alone is not enough. Several characteristics need to be studied and interpretations made on that basis.