Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The 21st century humans are moving towards a remarkable progress in the field of science and technology. With the advent of internet, especially the social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, information gets passed on in the same way as a fire spreads across a forest. people are always busy in creating, sending and forwarding messages in Whatsapp which has become a basic tool for knowledge sharing having its own boon and bane.

In the olden days, the different modes of communication was very less whereas nowadays, one can witness a plethora of it. For instance, animals were relied on for transport like horses, camels and bullocks which took away the time of the people. On the other hand, to reach a destination quickly, one could use a train, ship or a flight for a comfortable and less time-consuming journey. Also, academicians, researchers and mostly scientists and mathematicians, in olden era, used to write letters to their counterparts to clarify doubts and to share their findings. however, the scenario today is completely different. At the click of a button, emails are sent across which enhances the speeding up of processes. nevertheless, it has paved way for more publications, discoveries and filing the patents. More and more innovations result owing to this reason. The best examples could be that of internet banking, ticket booking, online shopping and what not. The list just goes on and on. Waiting in queues for getting things done has become a thing of the past which nobody would even want to think. who does not like sitting at home and ordering food, paying bills and make bank transactions?

Nevertheless, all the above has only led to a proliferation of information rendered and not the vice versa. it is true that media and internet have caused people's attention span to get shorter which is clear in teenagers. While the parents recommend them to learn, they are always found glued to their mobile phones. As a result of it, attention deficit syndrome is noticed in kids at a very young age. Children are addicted towards television, video games, cartoon and movies that tend to distract them a lot. Moreover, it has led to a transition from a bookworm to a maverick who thinks independently and has insight to the outside world. he is capable of thinking out of the box and come up with new ideas which in turn could lead to the development of himself and the nation.

Thus, it could be concluded that even though technology has led to attention deficit among the kids of today, they are more likely to gain knowledge through the mass media and internet. however, parents and educational institutions must make the students to focus more on academics and not unnecessarily wasting time in irrelevant subjects that creep up in the social sites. The path towards advancement is in the hands of an individual and he should decide to use the mass media and internet in an advantageous manner.