Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

government has been set up for the people in order to ensure safe and peaceful living on this earth. Human beings, in general, tend to oversee the hurdles and are imprudent of their future despite the advice rendered by the elders from time to time. if rules are not laid down or restrictions imposed, then one could witness a deprivation of safety in our day to day lives.

The growth of a nation is mirrored through the vast advancement in the scientific and technological side, which is possible only through the scientists of that country. As India’s former president and scientist Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, rightly pointed out, “By 2020, India will be a developed country”, it is evident that, according to his visionary statement, science is the need of the hour. With the innovative ideas that men could offer, novelistic creations can occur. For example, in olden days, manual cars were prevalent. But nowadays, automatic cars with the latest technologies and safety measures are inserted within the framework of the structure of the car.

Nevertheless, if restrictions are not laid down, then it could lead to the destruction of that nation. The best example is the Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear attacks. if the scientists, who had found out the destructive side of nuclear bombs had concealed its features from the outside world, then the attacks that had led to the destruction of the two provinces without leaving a minute trail of life, could have been avoided. Had the government checked the activities of the people in and out of the research community, such an explosion could have been nullified.

Moreover, with the advancement in the field of science, plagiarism and forgery of patent rights have taken a mammoth size. Furthermore, funds could be utilized in a wrong way pertaining to research activities. There will be no fear in the minds of the people and hence the tendency to commit crimes will increase. All this intensification is reduced by governmental laws and the citizens abiding by it.

Thus, to conclude, it can be reiterated that even though science has its own discretions, a proper monitoring could give fruitful results. Today’s youngsters are freelance thinkers and precocious, who never mind about the dangers that lie ahead of them. men are tuned to behave in such a way right from their childhood and the reason behind it is their inquisitiveness. However, adopting proper methods and following certain rules will surely avoid them to fall into mishaps.