In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Yes it is indispensible that any work of art like film, novel,poem must be understandable by people to get merit because if it is arcane then it will not get response that artist have behind their presentation.

First thought behind agreeing above statement is people are the one who make something very famous or flop .people are the audience of all bove stated arts and that way its necessary that they understand arts. Presentation should be succinct so that motive behind doing so is pellucid. If all art work is understandable by people then they surely discuss it with their other friends and this way particular art will become famous.

Second thought is why these arts are presented?, obviously to convey some message so it must be in the way that people understand and take some points from that. suppose some painter presented the image to save earth and save natural resourses and if it's not presented in simple way then there is no use of it. Despite of that if its simple and understandable so that people can support it and take further step to support artist view.

If every content of them is so hard to understand and boring then that will not be beneficial. For example some movie released in theater and people went to see it but it is not understable by them and they feel like they have wasted their time and definitely they will give negative feedback about it, they may feel like , movie uses so much of fancy in every thing and this make to hard to understand and also enjoyed less. so it does not get merit and of no benefit to people and presenter.

so to sumup it must be necessary that presentation should be presented acoording to people and make them convey their thought behind these art , then only they get merit of their work.