In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A person developes his thinking ability and principles through the education that he recieves and the life experiences that he undergo. And if the education is from all domains, then this results in a well-rounded individual, who are viewed in a spotlight by the society. When we stay an individual is well-rounded, what we mean is that the individual is having some sort of experience or knowledge in all or majority of the fields.

It is certainly attractive to be able to stay that we possess knowledge from every field. When we are having such a wide categories of subjects in college, then they help us in getting to know about our culture. When we read poetry, novels or any other type of imaginative literature, then they allow us to know how our culture came into existence, and how it evolved into its current form. It allows an individual to develop some creativity knowledge, which helps in all fields in one way or another. Studying of greek or roman mythology is a good example. Students knowing Roman mythology are educated about the ways in which they used govern their people, being one of the first democracy. This knowledge may help an individual in taking decisions and allows a student to become well-rounded, by knowing how democracy came into existence, and the way it was followed.

While well-rounded individuals are seeked by society, they come at an expensive price. For allowing college students to study any type of imaginative literature, they have to take time out of the subjects in which they are actually interested in. These are the subjects that will help them to get a job in future. So, it could be said that a lot of time is wasted behind imaginative literature, which contributes very little to the individuals future. Not only time, lot of energy is being spend in reading and understanding the complicated literature, which may be obscure to individuals who are not interested in this field. So, after studing mathematics and science, which are complicated also, these college students would have to waste their mental energy behind understanding poetry and novels, just so that they could pass in these subjects. Also, to have classes in poerty, novels or any other imaginative literature, the college would need to hire teachers, which in turn would cost students their money. These money being spend on subjects having no real contribution to the student's field of interest could be instead spend by students in a more useful way. A good example would be of a Engineering student who is studying logical subjects, which actually contribute to his career in future. However, if courses of imaginative literature are made required, then it may result in the student being well-rounded. But this would come at the cost of his/her time, energy and money, which could be utilised in a better way to make his/her job more successful.

Therefore, while it is in societies benefit to have well-rounded individuals, who are aware about the culture, and many other things, such individuals are molded that way in an expensive way. So, college should provide an option for students to take courses in imaginative literature, but should not make them as required. These would allow interested students to take those courses, and become well-rounded, while other students can untilise their resources in other ways, helping them with their jobs.