To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is a someone who provides a goal to the group of people, then skillfully guide them towards attaining that goal. Any public official would be considered an effective leader if he is able to work for the betterment of the society and help them prosper.

To be able to work towards attaining some goal, the public official must ensure that the people of his area trusts him/her. It is only when the people trust politicians, they follow him/her and would act in accordance to his/her plan to attain prosperity. To ensure that the public do not loss the confidence, the politician must always be honest with public and open about his/her work. In doing so, there are multiple advantages. It is human tendency to become a little care-free when we think no one is watching our work and no person will question the validity of the work. Same is the case with a politician, no matter how dedicated he/she is. So, if the leader is open about his/her work, people would be constantly knowing about the work that is being doing for them, and would question the leader if they feel that work done by the leader is not up to the standards. So, being open about work would make the public official work harder and efficiently.

In addition to being open about the work being done, the politican must also be honest about his work. If he/she gives false reports to the public, then this may create a sense of mis-trust when the actual findings come out. In this case, public would loss trust from the leader, and may never vote him/her again. An example for this is of a politician, belonging to Congress political party in India, who was caught in a scandal accepting bribe. When this politican was caught, then the nation was angered by such behaviour, and it resulted in the loss of party in the next national election.

Also, while it is true that public official should be open and honest about their work, there are certain situations in which this does not apply. Public official may be required to lie or provide false information to the public in order to protect nation. In such cases, the leader should ensure that the correct details are provide to public as soon as possible. An example for this is the case of the president of US, Barak Obama. They could not reveal any information about the ongoing operation in order to find Osama Bin Ladein, and when they able to find and kill him, US president immediately informed the public about it. So, in this case, the initial hiding of information was necessary.

Therefore, it is important for a public official to be honest and be open about his/her work. He/she should have a high moral and ethical standard in order for public to trust the leader. It is only when a leader is trusted, he would be able to work efficiently. There are also cases when leader may not divulge all the information beforehand, but such information should be provided at the earliest time possible.