To prepare young people to be leaders in government, industry or any other field is to instill a sense of both competition and cooperation.

The future of any society is determined by its younger generation. The education opportunities that the younger generation is presented with, the principles and ethics that the children are made to learn are important. This is important because it is these children that will grow up to be politicians and workers in the society and will decide the level at with society prosper. Therefore, education of children are very important.

While educating young people, it becomes important to decide whether the curriculum should develop a inner sense of competition or not. If there is competition between children, then everyone will strive to become the best, so that they can beat others. This is applicable in sports and in education and in all other fields. Every person has a need for praise. If competition is promoted, then to gain praises, children would work hard and try to improve at a faster pace. Hence, due to competition, young people would learn faster. In schools, it is this sense of competition which forces a student to study harder and to get good grades in each subject. Although, learning at a faster pace is a good thing, if children become too competitive, then they would try to take a wrong path to get ahead of others. If any children hurt another child deliberately just to get ahead, then this sense of extreme competition is bad and is not a deseriable teaching that any child should get.

To prevent children from getting too competitive, they also need to learn the sense of cooperation. It is only when children learn cooperation, they will help one another. Through working in team only, something great can be achieved. So, when children learn cooperation, they would compliment other children in the group, learning from one another and turning their weaknesses into strengths. This cooperation is very important as it allows for a large scale project to be undertaken with relative ease. For example, government any nation work in cooperation to create laws. If any single individual is assigned the task of creating laws for any nation, then no matter how intelligent the individual is, the laws would have some loophole and would be weak. Similiarly, in any scientific research group, it is multiple scientist working together towards a common goal. An individual scientist will not achieve what a team of scientist will.

Therefore, a sense of competition is needed so that individual is inspired enought to learn new things so that he/she may not remain behind anyone. But extreme sense of competitive feeling is bad, and may lead to a feeling of ill-will towards other individual. Along with some sense of competition, sense of cooperation is needed in an individual so that he/she can work with others in group helping one another. Hence, best way to prepare young people to be leaders in government, industry or any other field is to instill a sense of both competition and cooperation. But, it should be made sure, that neither of them is at its extreme.