The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director has concluded that additional budget is required for advertising. This conclusion is supported through various evidences such as increase in positive reviews, people unaware about good quality movies. Though the conclusion is based on some evidences provided, the logic behind the conclusion is flawed.

Firstly, it is mentioned that during past years, fewer people attended movies. But nothing have been mentioned about the exact fall in percentage of the number of people. It may be possible that the amount of decrease is not too much. Also, it is just said that the number of people watching the movies has decreases in past year. So, it may be possible that they are are some other reason due to which people could not watch movies, like some natural calamity. So, the advertising director should provide additional evidence about the percentage by which the number of people have fallen, and look at any additional factor which may have caused people to not watch movies in past year.

In addition to this, it is also mentioned that positive reviews have gone up. But, nothing have been specified about the type of positive reviews. The reviews from movie reviewers, who have given positive reviews, may not be well known. Therefore, their reviews might not be as valuable as of other well known reviewers. So, advertising director should look at the type of positive reviews and the reviewers that are giving these reviews. Also, he should look at the reviews of well know reviewers because it is these reviews that the public look at.

Lastly, advertising director has assumed that there is no problem with the quality of movies and just the content of reviews are not reaching enough prospective viewers. But, he/she have not given any evidence that reviews are not reaching the public. It may be possible that the reviews are actually been read by public, but people are still not interested in watching the movies. If that is that case, then even by increased advertisement, the number of people going to movies due to positive reviews will not increase much. So, the director should undertake some survey to analyse whether the reviews are being read by public or not.

Due to the reason stated above, the conclusion that increased share of budget is needed for advertising is flawed. The director need to provide additional evidences mentioned above to reach at a conclusion that is not flawed.