Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue discusses that law should be implemented such that they are flexible enough to take into account various circumstances, time and places. If someone breaks the law, then before punishing the person, we should look at the circumstances under which person breaks the law.

It is said that the modern society functions smoothly due to well-implemented laws. All the members of the society follow the law and live in accordance with it. This allows all the other members of the society to live in peace. However, sometimes it may happen that people who generally follow the law are forced to break them under specific circumstances. In such cases, we should look at all the factors before arriving at the decision to punish the person or not.

One of the example which can be given is of an vehicle carrying an injured person. When someone is seriously injured and needs to be rushed to hospital, then the vehicle will be allowed to by-pass certain laws in order to protect the injured person. They are allowed to break certain laws, which in case of a normal vehicle would be wrong. Another example is of self-defence. When a person is being robbed or raped, then they can harm the vigilante who is a threat to them. If we do not take into account of the circumstance under which person is harming the vigilante, then this act of hurting someone is breaking the law and is punishable. But, as soon as we view the harming of vigilante under the circumstance of robbing or rape, the self-defence seems valid and the person can be extempted.

While it is true that a person should be judged while taking into account various circumstances, times and places, we should look at the seriousness of the law, which was broken. The seriousness of the impact that breaking of law has, and the harm this act causes is important while judging the person. While it is true that self-defence or rushing a vehicle to save someone is allowed, these should not mean that someone else should get seriously injured due to these action. Person breaking the law in this case should take care that other persons are not seriously harmed due to them. So, when a law is broken, any person cannot be judged in isolation, without looking at any reasons which may have cause him/her to take such an action. Circumstances should be listened, to understand what caused the person to break the law, and then depending on the reason, and the seriousness on which law was broken, punishment should be given to the person.

Hence, as discussed, law should be implemented in such a flexible way so that they can take into account the circumstances, times and places. And depending on these factors and the law broken, the person should be judged.