In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In current times, it is common to see a team of people working together, to solve a problem. Any problem solving required a continous discussion between team members, so that individual ideas can be presented to the team. Once an individual present an idea, it becomes team's responsibility to properly discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of the idea. These discussions often result in new ideas, which are an improvement over the existing solution presented. Such new ideas, continously coming up in discussions result in progress towards solving the problem.

In such teams, people tend to favour those team members who are having same point of view. This happenes because we find it easier to work with them because a superficial trust is build between these members as they think that their though process is same. This allows them to work more efficiently and faster than other team members. An example for this is a group of students studying together. If all the students have same process for studying a particular subject, then they could help each other in case of doubts, thus resolving issues faster. These same set of students, when working in a group for a project, which also work efficiently and will be able to finish the project faster.

While it being true that same point makes it eaiser for a team to function. This happens because dicussions are faster as every member of the team would be thinking in the same way and would reach approximately same conclusion. However, when groups of people are formed which same though processes, then they would not be able to view the loopholes in thought processes or ideas that are coming up. All the members would readily agree with the same idea and start to implement it, only later would they realise the drawbacks of that idea. This would result is very less progress over time. However, if members of contrasting views are present, then they would question the idea, the thought process which resulted in the idea. These contrasting views will help the team to find the loopholes before any efforts are made to implement the idea, saving them a lot of time. Not only contrasting views help team to identify flaws in an idea, they are also helpful when the group is stuck at some point. When people with different view points are present, then they would be able to dissect the problem, able to view it in differently. These would result in a number of innovative ideas, different from one another. Since members of the group are having contrasting view points, they would take each idea, analyse it properly, and would bring out points which are not thought of, when people of same view points discuss. So, due to contrasting view points, group will not remain stuck at a problem, and will be able to make progess faster. Suppose students are trying to solve a mathematics problem, in which they become stuck at some point. They students using different methods will be able to discuss the ways to view the problems and would find a new way to look at the issue, solving it faster. While students using same method, will stick to their view point, with students less likely to bring any contrasting point in solving the issue, and will remian stuck.

Thus, while same view point in a group helps by allowing they to work smoothly and faster. It becomes possible that they could get stuck at some point. It is only with constrasting view points that innovative solutions are born, and new ways to look at a solution come. So, contrating view points allows the group to look at problem in different way, making them more likely to come up with a new idea. This allows them progress in towards their goal.