When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the last century, the world population have been growing at a alarming rate. We are currently at a population of around 7 billion and it is still growing. As the population grows, there have been an increased stress on the land usuage in the cities and it's surrounding areas. These happenes because people from small areas are attracted by the opportunities that a city could provide, and offen migrate to these cities.

Due to constant inflow of people into the city, city developers have to make judicious use of the little land that is available to them. The continous development of city means that certain buildings have to be demolished to free up the space for newer construction. This new construction allowes modern planners to build building which are multi-purpose and make effective use of space which is very important in areas with limited land available. Not only the issue of living space come with population surge in cities, but also of maintaining different facilities available, such as roads, hospitals, in the city becomes difficult due to increased stress on these systems. So, it becomes advantageous for city planners to use the ground, on which old buildings are present, to construct modern building which would provide them an economic gain and also create spaces for people coming in the city. A good example are the demolitions of old bunglows in the big city of Mumbai. Mumbai has a huge population of people living in it, with a continous stream of people coming in. Due to such a high demand, the land available is always less to support so many people. Therefore, old bunglows, which allowed only one family to live in them, are being demolished, so that the land could be made availabe to modern developers. The buildings created by them could support thousands of families in the same amount of land.

While continouse development of city does mean the certain buildings have to be demolished, the buildings choosed are to be carefully decided. Some of the old buildings help us understand the culture of the city, the people living during that time. It allows us to trace the begining of a culture in the country. It is due to these reasons, that some old buildings have sentimental values attached to them, apart from the historic value that they already have. So, when deciding which buildings are old enough to be demolished, then city planners should take into the value of buildings, in the form of cultural and sentimental value associated with the buildings. This is clearly evident in how city officals try to preserve forts and palaces. These forts or palaces are generally located in big cities, where not much land is available. Still due to cultural values that these places hold, they are preserved, and reconstruction in these areas is not allowed.

Therefore, even though, modern developers might feel that the land under old building might have a better modern purpose, these historic buildings should not be allowed to be demolished, if they have some cultural value. Historic buildings with such values are useful, and they need to be preserved. However, certain old buildings are not having any cultural and sentimental value, then these buildings could be demolished to be used for modern purposes.