As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The assumption that the ability of humans to think for themselves will definitively degenerate as a result from the rapid development and extensive dependence on modern technology is too partial and presumptuous, as this ability is by no means solely depends on the one external factor-advanced technology. Humans’ abilities of independent thinking and problem-solving vary from individuals to individuals, which is affected by a series of factors such as genes, education, and what kind of problems they are faced with.

The advanced technology, say, the Internet, may generate diverse impacts on the ability of independent thinking f people with different personalities. For example, for studies who are too lazy to use their brains to solve the difficult questions of their mathematic homework, they may choose to directly search for answers in the Internet and copy the answers down without bothering to think about the underlying logic and basic principles behind this question; this will definitively generate negative influence on their development of independent thinking and problem-solving ability. In contrast, if students are brought up to be conscientious, and are educated in an environment where creative thinking is encouraged, they may use the Internet to help themselves in their homework in a totally different way. When they encounter difficulties in completing mathematic homework, they may search for answers in the Internet as well, but instead of copying answers without thinking, they may not only try to use their acquired knowledge to understand and evaluate the rationale of the process of getting this answer, but explore different possible solutions by discussing this questions with their classmates or wed-friends using social networking tools as well.

Whether our ability of independent-thinking could be deteriorated by the technology is also depends on the characteristics of problems solved by technology, in other words, whether these problems require ingenuity and creativity. However, in most cases, advanced technology extricates us from a large number of repeated, mechanical, and onerous works, such as data processing, statistical calculating in the field of scientific research, which helps to improve the efficiency and save a large amount of time and energy for scientists so that they can be free to come up with more new ideas and well-designed projects.

Moreover, no matter how advanced a machine may be, they are devised by human brains, and by no means can they replace the role of humans in creating new things. The development of technology is exactly the product of human’s thinking for themselves to meet their own requirements, and human’s ability of independent thinking will also be upgraded in the process of creating new technology and seeking solutions for the new problems engendered by technology. For example, laptops today are designed to be lighter and easier to carry compared to their old generations.

In summarize, whether the advancement of technology could compromise people’s ability of thinking for themselves largely depends on how people employ technology, and in most cases, human’s ability of independent thinking is boosted accompanied by the development of technology.