As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

The statement linking technology to free thought has played a role in the recent human experience in the past century. Of course, there is no time in history when people's lives change more dramatically. A quick reflection on typical days reveals how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to work through cars running on internal combustion engines. During the working day, employees are highly likely to interact with computers that process information about .09 micron wide silicon bridges. After leaving home, family members will arrive by wireless network using satellites orbiting the Earth. At the turn of the 19th century, each of these common events was unimaginable.

The statement attempts to link these dramatic changes to the decline in human self-thinking. Our hypothesis is that the reliance on technology is growing, otherwise people need to think creatively to solve the previous dilemma. Looking back at this introduction, one might argue that if there are no cars, computers or mobile phones, the hypothetical workers need to find other modes of transportation, information processing and communication. Technology shorts this idea by making the problem obsolete.

However, this dependence on technology does not necessarily exclude the creativity of human species. The previous examples show that the technology allows for convenience. Cars, computers and mobile phones provide people with a more efficient living space. This efficiency does not preclude human beings from thinking about themselves. In fact, technology enables humans to not only solve new problems, but also create new problems that do not exist without technology. For example, the popularity of automobiles has created a need for fuel savings worldwide. As energy demand in emerging markets continues to increase, global warming has become an unimaginable issue for the horseshoe generation. Equal dependence on oil creates a nation-state that does not rely on taxation, allowing the ruling party to oppress minority groups such as women. Solving these complex problems requires unconstrained imagination by maverick scientists and politicians.

Contrary to the statement, we can even see how technology releases human imagination. Think about how the digital revolution and the emergence of the Internet can achieve an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD is a popular medical information Internet portal that allows patients to self-research symptoms for a more informed visit. This exercise opens the way of thinking that was previously closed by doctors. As interdisciplinary interactions increase, inspiration can come from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the architects of the UN Millennium Development Goals, based his views on emergency care diversion technology. The unlikely combination between economics and medicine has cured the tension and hyperinflation environment from South America to Eastern Europe.

The last example provides the greatest hope for how technology can truly provide hope for the future of mankind. By increasing the reliance on technology, it is now possible to achieve impossible goals. Think about how to eradicate smallpox in the late 20th century. Since the prehistoric times, this disease has been ravaging humans, but with vaccine technology, people dare to imagine a world without smallpox. Using technology, a combat plan was developed to systematically target and eliminate the smallpox.

From discovering fires to implementing nanotechnology, technology will always mark the human experience. Given the history of mankind, for us, the number of old and new problems will not be limited. There is no need to return to Luddite's attitude towards new things, but rather a hopeful gesture of the possibilities offered by technology for new ways of human imagination.