As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

technology has proven to be a boon and a bane to this generation for seeping into every aspect of our lives. The authors claim that it will deteriorate the ability of humans to think for themselves and for the most part I concur with the statement.

over a span of a hundred years, technology has become ubiquitous in the average lifestyle. Its effects can be observed in all fields pertaining to us; from work, education, medicine to space and ocean exploration, leaps are made in advancement thanks to incessantly upcoming technological marvels.

it is unsurprising then, that we turn to technology for all problems big or small. The advent of the fourth industrial revolution has turned IoT concepts like smart Homes and smart assistant into household names. With Alexa, Siri and Google assistant performing all our menial tasks for us, people don't have to expend time and energy for mindless chores. On the negative side, taking them for granted results in our mental and physical handicap in the absence of their help. Softwares crunch our numbers and analyse the data for us. Artificial intelligence and Machine Learning are slowly replacing us in our analytical role as well. One could argue that humans need to keep up with this technology and therefore we are not likely to lose our acute thinking prowess. A strong counter to the said argument can be found in the very technology we have to pace ourselves with. With AI and ML, some could say, our thinking caps can be permanently retired.

Which is why it is important to check our dependence on technology. To navigate through the myriad of technology's adverse impacts, conscious detoxing is necessary. Individuals of all age groups must be informed about the ramifications and suggested tips on distancing themselves from it.

Yuval Noah Harrari argued that Homo Sapiens as a species has not had enough time to familiarise itself to technology because of its exponential pace; we went from hoarders to hunters to farmers to corporate slaves in a brief period of time. Evolution is struggling to keep up with our inventions. So it follows naturally that we are challenged in finding our rhythm with technology.

Lack of intellectual stimulation has resulted in lower moods also. Studies have shown that overexposure to technology in all its forms can lead to many mental problems such as anxiety, depression, stress etc. Although technology has made our lives inexplicably easier, it has made it worse too.

In conclusion, I would advocate for a balance to be struck between our technology dependant lives and our technology free lives. I strongly believe that is the only way we can prevent it from taking over our lives.