As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will not, on the whole, deteriorate. While humanity’s increasing reliance on technology may decrease its ability to complete basic or remedial cognitive tasks, such as simple addition or multiplication, this increased reliance on technology may increase humanity’s problem-solving and critical thinking abilities for several reasons.

Pieces of technology are tools, not beings. Complex machines, such as computers, only execute commands when given the proper inputs from people. Computers cannot “think” in the sense that they independently produce plans and execute these plans. Like other advanced pieces of technology, computers require external input before they can execute its programmed commands. This means that even the most advanced forms of technology only succeed in solving problems insofar as people instruct the machines in executing predetermined solutions to problems. Without a person exercising his critical-thinking skills, creating a solution, and inputting that solution into a computer, the computer cannot solve a given problem. In this way, the use of technology to implement solutions to problems does not diminish an individual’s ability to think for himself and create a solution to that problem.

Similarly, people will need to continue thinking for themselves if they are to continue creating more advanced forms of technology. Machines are not yet advanced enough to create newer, more complex machines, and as such, people will need to engage in critical thinking and more advanced problem-solving as they attempt to create more advanced machines to solve problems. In this way, the creation and refinement of complex machines is, in itself, a problem that requires a solution, and because there will always be a need for more complex machines to solve ever-increasingly complex problems, people must continue to think for themselves.

Some will argue that the reliance on technology will result in a deterioration of people’s ability to think for themselves. These individuals are correct, yet only insofar as people’s ability to complete simple tasks is concerned. Many people, myself included, rely on calculators to complete basic arithmetic operations. I rarely calculate the tip at a restaurant by hand, and I suppose that this could mean that I am not thinking for myself. Still, the increasing reliance of people on technology does not diminish humanity’s capacity for independent thought overall. Rather, the increasing reliance on technology increases humanity’s capacity for independent thought, as technology frees individuals from wasting their mental resources on simple tasks. Because individuals spend much less time solving basic problems, such as the tip at a restaurant, individuals are free to grapple with more consequential and complex matters, such as arriving at a cure for chronic illnesses like cancer. Overall, humanity’s increasing reliance on technology expands humanity’s capacity for independent and complex thought by freeing humanity to challenge its intellect with more nuanced problems.