As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is the dazzling fruit of an era that human stepped into his post-medieval period. When the people had the opportunity to get away from the quotidian and prosaic topics of their daily lives, they stared to think proactively and innovative gadgets were invented. This technology has been in serve of humankind since the very beginning and gave rise to phenomenon outcomes. Nonetheless, the recent trend of the applications of technologies are not as promising as it used to be. Some people think it is leading us to perish and halt us, the humans, from what we are, a genuine, as we have always been throughout history. The current observations actually confirm this point of view that people are unable to think for themselves due to relying too much on technology.

To begin with, a primary concern that is quite frightening is the rate of progressing in brand new technologies. In less than a decade or so, the new technologies are moving forward so rapidly that sometimes it is unconceivable how far it can get in the next decade. For instance, data scientists declare the total information that has been ever generated by humans get doubled almost every two years, since 2000s. The acceleration of the process is mind-blowing. Ever since the appearance of Google search engine has provided a huge amount of data for users, and despite the usefulness of the information that we can acquire from this eminent website, it has led people to rely completely on it. People are not tended to even think for a moment to a question they encounter with, and they immediately open up a browser page and search the issue to find the answer. I, as a person who espouse Darwinist, believe that through generations this will lead to disability of human being to think properly. What we have now, is the heritage of billion people lived before us, our ancestors, through thousands of years. People who thought and challenged the world around themselves and advanced their minds. But what is the remainder of us, the generation who spent a large portion of its day time on Instagram?

To add, besides simple search engines that engage ordinary people, there are highly functioning machines that help scholars and industry, but yet make them more dependent. The advent of Artificial Intelligence (AI) has been a milestone of the century. After industrial revolution of Europe, factories equipped with steam-engine machines and they needed an operator. In this way operators were the brain and machines were the muscles. However, the current machines have the ability to learn and think. It turns out what would be the human’s role after all have done machines all the works? And there is a controversial topic herein about the rebellious potential of AI which is beyond the topic now.

To point out, it is axiomatic that how technology has helped humans to reach its present climax. However, the writer of this essay believes presently the technology are affecting humans’ thinking ability adversely.

To conclude, humans are less-likely to think as they used to do the same function before. The detrimental effects of technology are not yet blatant, but it can be considered as a raised alarm that humans should be aware of, and make them to think about their future.