Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

decision-making is an important trait of a human being. Through life, every people encounter some crucial moments that need a decision be made for them. Thus, those individuals who have learned how to make a good choice in given situation are the successful ones, and parents' role in this issue is undeniable. The controversial question which arises here for people is whether young people depend on their parents to make decisions in the past or today. In my opinion, today's' young people are more independent in decision-making from their parents. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my viewpoint.

The first reason coming to my mind is concerned with the issue that today young people have more communications. In our contemporary era, Juveniles have a significant amount of access to their have relationship with their friends and other people. In this situation, I believe people would learn how to make a good choice because they learn how to socialize and how to deal with problems by themselves. According to a recent research, children who were grown up in the suburb areas seemed to be shy and timid rather than urban born and raised children. By that, we may also conclude the more shyness a child will feel, the less he is likely to make his decisions.

Another equally important reason to be mentioned is that today parents do not spend the time they would spend in the past with their children. parents are involved in the hectic life of cities, and as a result, they have less time to spend with children. So, teenagers might be more determined to make decisions autonomously about their lives, owing to lack of enough attention from their parents. As an illustration, when I was in high school, I had a friend which his parents were both working hard and he was alone at home most of the time. I remember he would make many decisions by himself, such as buying his clothes. this was odd because most of us, at that age, we depended on our parents for this kind of works.

Finally, from what has been discussed above, we may reach a conclusion that young people make more independent decisions nowadays than in the past. they have more communications and less attention from their parents. As a result, they will learn how deal with their simple needs and decisions and gradually, this ability expands to greater and bigger decisions they will meet in their life.