Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the internet than on public transportation.

Nowadays, public transportation and accessing to the internet are very important. On the one hand, heavy traffic that are in crowded cities, especially in the metropolitan areas, means that in order to solve this problem public transportation must be improved. On the other hand, improvement of technologies and knowledge is drastically accelerated, though people need to have an access to this information and utilizing the internet is the best way we can do for that. In my opinion it’s better that government spend more money on improving public transportation than accessing to the internet. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, deficiency in the transportation system leads to traffic. Traffic particularly in metropolitan areas is very disturbing. High traffic leads to wasting time, slowing down the progress of works, increasing the probability of accidents etc. I have even heard that based on last researches, on average everybody spends more than 750 hours in traffic per year. That’s amazing. It means that anyone wastes more than one month of his or her life in traffic per year. These problems can be solved only by improving public transportation network. My own experience demonstrates the influence of public transportation. 3 years ago, when the subway network of city on which I live was not finished, I had to spend one and half hour for getting to my work. Because of this problem I had to woke up earlier in the morning and during the day I was bored and I could not do the best. But since last year on that the subway network has commenced working, I have spent only 30 minutes for getting my work.

In addition, lack of public transportation network leads to lots of environmental and health problems. If everybody wants to use private car, air would be polluted. Pollution of air would arise many diseases and leads to deaths of huge number of people. I’ve read in the newspaper that on the polluted day the average number of heart attacks rise by over 50 percent.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that government should spend more money on improving public transportation rather than accessing to internet. I feel this way because I think saving time, money, environment and health of humans is absolutely important.