Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">we, humans, are social creatures and without communications, we are susceptible to encounter both interpersonal and intrapersonal defections. our friends and the relationship we have with them have an indispensable influence on our lives. The controversial question which arises for people in this issue is whether having the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness or the ability to make many new friends easily. From my own perspective, maintaining friendship is much more important than the other one. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into the most outstanding reason to advocate my viewpoint.

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">The first reason coming to mind is concerned with the trust issue. friendship is a magnificent asset and it brings a number of benefits, but the integral factor that creates a good friendship is trust. although making new friends may appear easy, it is hard and time consuming to discern people's personality. Therefore, the more it takes to be familiar with someone, the more it will take to trust him or her. For instance, as most of people has experienced it, people have more trust to their school friends and this is same for me. Currently, me and my best friend have known each other since the elementary school, which is around 20 years. I think the reason is the trust we have to each other. without the shadow of doubt, trust is the matter of time, and as long as people could not conceal their bad traits when they are child, school friendship is about honesty and trust. As a result, although we can make good friends in a short amount of time, it is better to maintain our old friends.

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">another equally significant point to be mentioned is the definition of happiness. In my opinion, sometimes recalling a good memory can bring smile to our lips and make us happy and relief the anxiety. people usually have numerous mutual sweet memories with their friends. Psychologists even take a step further and explain that our personality and character is comprised by memories. when people think about “the self”, unconsciously their mind brings up the memories and experiences an individual has had in his life to help him get information about himself. Hence, having a group of friends throughout our life, and stay in touch with them, can help us to have a better personality and traits. To sum it up, no matter how many members the group of our friends has, what really matters is the number of memories we have created with them.

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">The last reason, but not the least, is the reaction we may receive from our friends if we invariably make new friends and replace the older ones. Substantially, dear friends are not interested to be ignored or neglected by their friend and they usually expect a lot of attention. So, if people make new friends one after another, probably only a few friends will be remained, because it is less likely a bearable attitude. Consequently, in my opinion we should seize our moments we have, when we are beside the important people in our life. we might pay more attention to quality of friendship rather than quantity.

new Roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new Roman"">From what has been discussed above, we may reach to a conclusion that merits of the ability to maintain friends outweigh the ability to make new friends. it is hard to disguise that gaining trust proceed a long time and old friends are usually a good epitomize of this issue. Also, the memories we have with our friends are a precious asset and we should not take it for granted. this is something that we rarely can obtain from new friends. besides that, it might make our friends skeptical to our friendship, whereas people usually need attention and care from their friends. For the final point, a quote from a decent writer might be useful. “my friend is even closer to me than my brother, because I have found him by myself, but my brother is not chosen by me.”