“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument tries to provide reasons for a recent misfortune of a late-night program in attracting and keeping the viewers and advertisement contracts. The reasoning in the argument is not logically flawed; however, as it relies on a number of assumptions and lack of proper evidence. Here some additional evidences are employed that would help to weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument takes the received viewer’s complaints over the coverage as a primary source of justification that reducing the time of weather and local news has caused falling the number of viewers. But it does not provide any information about the proportion of the national news time over weather and local news. It has just declared the devoted time to national news is increased and the weather and local news quota is decreased. What is the ratio of this increase and decrease to the total length of the program? Or additionally, it is vital to know whether the quality of the program is still held to the former level. It is plausible to assume the quality of program has deteriorated since, as mentioned by the passage, they have encountered a lack of revenues, due to losing advertising contrast as a source of funding, and it may have affected the program and it all has caused a circular reasoning.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. The solution that they provide at the end of the argument is to change everything as it used to be one year ago. The point that the author of the argument is probably oblivious to the fact that what held true a years ago might not hold true today. Many viewers may have accustomed to the current program and another change in the program structure may also detrimental consequences for the program. Therefore, in order to verify this solution, more investigations should be conducted to understand the true reasons that has led to this situation.

Because the argument makes several unjustified assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that restoring everything to the former conditions would be a great option. In this manner, more evidences should be provided to understand whether the reduction of weather and local-news reduction is the main reason for losing viewers and revenues from advertisers or not.