As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since the beginning of civilization, innovation is always looked down. When electricity was invented, people protested against its launch and raised questions about its origin. They claimed that its not safe enough to introduce to societies where people can die from electric shocks. When paper was invented, people were concerned about the loss of plant life and censured its importance. There isn't an invention made for betterment of humans in history that was immune to public disapproval. And yet these are the trite in present. These disproval is a result of misconception that machines could end up replacing humans or could result in humans losing their abilities to perform certain tasks.

Human brain is a complex system. It consists of billions of neurons which are connected in an intricate pattern to accomplish different tasks. These neurons run the same task again and again and yet each time the results get better. They are trained by experiences. The quote "Practice makes man perfect " is a perfect analogy to this system. The problem solving skills a human posses also arises from this neurons which are proportional to experiences the individual has. For years, machines and technology are trying to mimic this brain activity. A machine is nothing but a technology that tries to replicate the actions of a brain and consequently the movements of humans. Hence it is unfair to claim that these machines dominate humans or that they are better than humans. They just help in reducing the time people spent in performing tasks rather than completely eradicating the ability to perform this task.

Consider a calculator. It was made to reduce the stress of arduous calculations student's have to make for solving mathematical questions. This invention was met with the same resistance as any innovation would attract. The most prominent argument was how student's would lose their ability to make simple calculations. At present, many universities and schools specifically ask student's to bring their calculators for tests and classes, dissolving the protests previously made. Their question papers no longer test their ability to make simple calculations but the concepts they have learnt. With advancements in technologies educational institutes and other industries are updating their workings in a way that accommodates the present trends. This states that with advancements getting bigger and bigger, so are the problems that people need to face. Global warming, over population, endangered species and so on, are some examples.

Adding to the above example, when encountered with people with disorders that prevents them from making basic calculations or disorders that denies them the ability to count with their fingers, the calculator goes a long way in helping them. Without its existence these people are at a severe disadvantage when educational institutes are more concerned about testing the students ability to calculate than their ability to understand a concept. These people can now attempt these tests with an equal footing with others. But this also adds a severe disadvantage to students by creating a sense of insecurity. Without enough practice and constant usage of calculators they might loose their confidence to make simple calculations without cross checking with the calculator. This diminishes their self confidence and makes them exclusively dependent on calculators.

One might argue that, though humans are not below technology , they are not completely independent either. From the time they wake up with the help of an alarm in their mobile phones to the time they spend watching television before bed, human lives are entrenched with technology. Even in the above example its clear how dependent students are on calculators. At first glance this could be seen as a bad thing. And yet when compared the lives of an eighteenth century resident, who led a life free of present technology, it can be quickly concluded that this dependency is of no harm and even makes life easier.

Even though a machine can perform a task with an efficiency that is many times greater than that of a human, it still lacks the decision making skills that a human posses. If a machine can make ten donuts in thirty seconds, which is three times lesser than the time a human would take, a human still needs to taste and test the quality of these donut before it is made available in the market. No matter the peaks a technology can achieve, it needs to be initiated, evaluated and tested by a human.

Evaluating all the examples provided in the above paragraphs, it is safe to assume that technology, though it makes humans lazy and dependent, it never effects their ability of solving problems and might even sharpen this ability. Our educational institutions everchanging testing techniques and curriculums is the base for this claim.