Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the teacher's salaries should be based on their students' academic performance. Indisputably, it is a logical assumption made by many. Nevertheless, this assumption lacks the concrete evidences bolstering the authors claim. Thus, It is not surprising to disagree with the authors statement. There are many instances where the validity of the author words can be disproved and needs to be modified.

First of all, the statement made by the author above is based on an assumption that a teacher is directly affecting the performance of a teacher. Though it could be admitted to be true, it also does not hold the same position in all cases. There are numerous factors that effect the student's working capability. To illustrate, imagine a school with a teacher who is loved by all students and is good in their job. If the area in the school is hit by storms or other unforeseen natural calamities then the students performance is bound to decrease. Here, blaming the teacher for the events beyond his control is unfair. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that a teacher alone is not responsible for determining the students worth in academics.

Furthermore, many students have an uncanny ability to study on their own. Many universities rejected the compulsory attendance to encourage students to 'self study'. The reason for this new implementation is made to make things easier for the students. Every teacher has their own style of teaching and understanding and accommodating to these varied styles are difficult. But if provided with correct guidance and enough resources to study on their own , the students can improve and better themselves on their own desired pace. This method is becoming increasingly popular among schools and most teachers are encouraging more homework to assist this method and increase the practice about the subject among the students. Therefore, most often the student ability to perform well in exams and other school activities depends upon their own hard work and dedication.

In conclusion, the statement teachers salaries are should be dependent on students performance is based on an assumption that the teachers are the only factors influencing the students work in school. But these assumptions are false and are not valid in majority cases. Unless these assumptions are modified or added with more instructions or restrictions, this claim cannot be supported. In fact, implementing this claim in schools or universities would serve a major disadvantage to the teachers and in turn to the students as well as it could lead to marks inflation in some cases.