While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author makes an argument in favor of abandoning the notion of homework after school. They gave suitable evidences bolstering their claim and an accurate conclusion is drawn from them. Stated this way the author's presentation of the argument looks practical and logical, yet on closer inspection the inconsistency of the argument is made visible. Major assumptions with no background information play an important role in the author's claims and without validating these assumptions the argument presented cannot be deemed truthful.

First of all, the author mentions that they have compared the proportionality between the amount of homework and the performance of students in two states of Sanlee and Marlee. Yet the author failed to mention the origin of these states. No sentence in their argument enlightens the place these regions are from. Apart from the failure of mention of the state these districts belong to, the author also had not mentioned the timeline these survey were taken in. To illustrate, if these results obtained were obtained from the year 2000, then they are not valid for a decision making process occurring currently. Hence, stating the argument with an inculcation of the states these districts belongs to and the timeline the comparison was held between the two mentioned districts would make the author more convincing to the reader.

Secondly, the definite criteria of comparison is missing. Assume two states with a population of 100 and 1000. If there are 10 students in each of these states, then that infers that 10% of state 1 and 1% of state 2 are children. Though the number of children are same, the percentages vary greatly with respect to the population. Similarly, the 86% of the Sanlee and the 25% of Marlee could be a same number or Marlee could be larger than Sanlee. Without proper information to compare the decisive data of these states it is impossible to concur with the author's conclusions.

Adding to this, the author mentioned that only mathematics and science teachers or subjects are analyzed in the argument. Disregarding other subjects that are mandatory to students is not recommended. The grade sheet represents the work of a student in all the subjects they are assigned with rather than only mathematics and science. The author should add the details of more subjects that are included in the curriculum of the students to produce an accurate conclusion determining the worth of homework in the education system.

Furthermore, the performance of a student might not entirely depend on their homework. Consider that the district Sanlee was hit with a natural disaster or any other external cause that rendered its students distracted from their studies. If the survey was held in this timeline it is obvious to see that the students in Sanlee are failing. Therfore, incorporating the situations of the district and the circumstances of the students before measuring the capability of the students in their education is needed to make the author more credible.

In conclusion, the author should regroup his argument with better examples and concrete evidences backing his stance in the subject. Without any modifications or additional improvement to their argument, their statements look more like wishful thinking rather than a solution based on substantive data and proofs for ensuring the improvement of quality of education received by the students in the state if Attra.