As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We live in an era where right from waking up in the morning to going back to sleep at night we use different forms of technology. Starting from the treading mill that we use for exercising, the coffee machine for making the hot beverage to listening to music while taking shower, presence of technology is implicit. The high end computers that we use to do almost every little work from drafting mail to giving command for the launch of rocket is all because of technology. We are using technology like never before for solving our problems and this has created a dependency which in a way is inexorable. Technology and our reliance on it has both good and bad effects but saying that this dependency will ultimately lead to deterioration of humans ability to think for himself is a statement I would like to disagree.

Technology does give us all the comforts at an arm’s length, but it is making us lazy and less active physically. Because of the easy availability of solutions to problem through technology, we are getting more and more reluctant to use our own intelligence. Our morals have changed and our interpersonal relations are getting effected given the excess time we spent on the tools of technology like phone, computer etc.

However, the human imagination has not taken a back seat. Technological advancement have made it possible for humans to take their time off mundane problems of day to day life and put more effort into solving higher truths of nature. For example, in early centuries, mathematicians used to spend their life time trying to calculate the exact value of the number pi. But now with the event of super computers we can calculate the value of pi with a million digits after the decimal point in just under a second. In medical sciences, technology has helped humans to decode genes to know why we are the way we are. The world is a safer place now that technology has made it possible to develop vaccines for almost every deadly disease. For example, the World Health Organisation (WHO) has declared small pox to be an extinct disease. Not just the old problems, humans are solving the new problems that technology poses before them by using technology itself, which is a clear example of human ingenuity.

Technology has helped humans to come a long way from the need of just food, shelter and cloth to build massive structures like large hadron collider (LHC) to detect particles that could let us know the origin of this universe. And with the help of technology humans will continue to grow and prosper.