People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The environment, one’s parent and peer group, school and society rules, and many other factors all contribute to a person’s disposition. Also, people’s attitudes are based on the immediate surrounding and the society. But one might say people’s attitude are largely determined by their surroundings than by the society. While some other people believe people’s attitude is based on the society and not the immediate environment. However, immediate situation contributes more to an individual’s disposition than the society at large.

An individual’s attitude is fully based on the situation such individual found himself or herself. In politics for example, most politicians parade themselves as philanthropists before gaining power. These politicians are mostly charitable and generous when they are vying for a post. This is because of the situation they found these politicians found themselves. But after being elected, some politicians seems to change. Some politicians tend to show baseness and depraved attitude. This is also as a result of the autocratic situation they found themselves.

Furthermore, apart from the politicians who are commonly known to change attitude according to the situation they found themselves, children are also mercurial when it comes to their attitude and this is mostly caused by their immediate environment or situation. In children’s case as well, the society plays little in determining their dispositions. For instance, a child who has martinet parent will seem mild and tamed when the parent is around. But as soon as the parent are out of sight, such child seem loose. Also, children tend to do bad things when they are not under an adult’s supervision. This same children, are kind and moral in the sight of their parent a highly venerated adult. From this, we could see as well people’s attitude are mainly determined by their surroundings and less affected by the society.

True, some might say that society play large role in an individual’s behaviour. For example, an orphan who have no one to take care of him or her, and decided to turn to a ruffian. Another example include a generous man who swindled by some dubious fellow while portraying his act of generosity. These examples are true to some extent. However, the orphan and the philanthropist can choose to behave in a way if they so wish. Thus, the politician and the orphan are largely influenced by the people around and them and not the entire society.

In summary, people’s attitude are less determined by the society and largely determined by the people’s surrounding. Several examples include children and politicians. Thus, society play little role in a one’s attitude while the environment or the situation an individual found himself or herself largely determine an individual’s disposition.