People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The rule of authority in the 21st century comes in various form. To a large extent each individual is empowered with an authority directly or indirectly. In the scenario of this issue, i will be dissecting the authority that arises as a result of democracy and the needs for people to question the authority rather than accepting it passively. Democracy in its literal term is a type of governing system where the populace have the free will to choose whomever they want as their leader while simultaneously empowering such individual with authority above others.

When democratic system was created, the need for questioning of authority was identified. It is one of the reasons why the judiciary system was crated as an arm of the government. Hence rather than accepting rules passively, the populace have the power to challenge whatever rule they are not comfortable with in the court of law with th believe of getting a redress or explanation about such law and why it is a necessary and valid action.

It is in human nature to get power drunken when one is in a place of higher authority. This makes an individual susceptible to making laws and policy that are at the detriment of he populace. Even though, people might be aware that the law is against them, they tend to accept it dogmatically because they believe there is little they can do to challenge the authority. In a society where the higher authority are held accountable by consistent critical and necessary challenge of the government rules, such society always thrive in prosperity and goodwill.

The challenge of authority to a large extent is a means of feedback to the government which will prompt them to know that they are doing something wrong and they need to check on themselves. Feedback is very critical in effective communication and the government as an institution should identify this as a yardstick for measuring their success. For an institution that its populace did not challenge its rule of authority, such institution will b riddled with numerous ineptitude ranging from corruption, sabotage, instability of economy, poor educational system and many more as such institution will have a care free attitude towards its populace.

Conclusively, another system of questioning the rule of authority adopted was the subjection of the ruling authority to election which normally held in most countries after four years. This election gives the populace to reevaluate how well they are satisfied with the leadership of an administration and who else they want to saddle with the authority for the next few years. Hence, consciously or subconsciously, in a democratic system, the masses are empowered to challenge the rules of authority they are subjected to during a particular period of time.