Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in

private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons

and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The primary responsibility of a government is to cater for the security, economic and social needs of its citizenry. These needs encompass many aspects of human lives of which business is one of them. It is on this note that I will disagree with the claim that for small businesses to thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters. highlighted below are some of the cogent reasons why i am of the view that government role in ensuring that small business thrives are vital.

As a small business, for it to thrive, it requires an enabling environment which can only be proffered by the government. This can be done by implementing policies that promotes ingenuity and ease of doing business in a country especially for small scale businesses. Some of the policy that can be enacted include the exemption of such business from tax payment for a particular period of time just to ensure that the business is able to survive the early stage of its life.

Similarly, the government through their policy can help small business thrive by ensuring that there is no market cap for goods and services, this will help the small business to break into market by selling their products at a price that will entice the customer to patronize them. Nobody want to patronize a new entry in the market whose price is at the same level with already established business, so removing the market cap bottleneck by the government will tilt the market towards the small business as they will be able to leverage on the free price in the market.

Furthermore, the Government indirectly create enabling environment for some small business through partnership and non-profit loan. This initiative helps the small business to seek for capital to fund their business with a relived mind of not paying exorbitant interest rate thereby prompting more individuals with small scale business to gain access to fund their business which will translate to the economic uplift of the country as a whole through increase in job opportunities and reduction in crime rate.

Conclusively, the role of Government in business intervention is invaluable as without the enabling government policy, no business will ever thrive not even the big business and that is why most established business often leave a country after few years when the policy of the government in that country is enabling. The intervention of the government aid the prosperity of the nation as it helps improve the economic stability, reduction in crime rates, job security, innovation and creativity o the part of the populace.