Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that

could be used to challenge your position.

Adulthood is where human spent most of their lifetime. According to laws of most country, an adulthood stage is reached when an individual is 18 years old. But, most humans are not prepared for this stage of life because most of their early days were spent in schools. Schools were established to prepare students for the academic aspects of adulthood; even though this preparation is necessary, the adulthood stage of life revolves more around the non-academics than the academics. Hence, I believe that there is a need for school to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood so that such a student will become a success when they reach the adulthood stage. To affirm my position, i will highlight some reasons why schools need to lean towards the non-academic aspect of life.

To begin with, adulthood is a stage where every individual is independent, hence they are eligible to make their decision without influence. Statistically, it was reported that about 80% of students that transition into adulthood fails when it comes to financial decision. Most of them are not financially aware and financially literate. The financial literacy I’m insinuating is not that of financial courses but how to spend money wisely, how to invest, how to have multiple source of income, what to do to prevent being susceptible to fraud and others which culminate in how an individual is able to manage their finance.

Furthermore, often times, schools do not teach how to be responsible for each and every decision an individual makes in life, consequently, we see students that recently reach adulthood blaming their parents, leaders, community and government for the decisions they made when they ought to be responsible for their actions and inactions. Similarly, one of the critical tools needed to survive the adulthood stage is the ability to use soft skills successfully. An example of such soft skill is the negotiating skill. As an adult, ability to negotiate is an invaluable skill that will determine how far one will excel in life because invariably, all our encounters and decision revolves around communication and negotiating skills especially for someone who is an entrepreneur and a business oriented fellow. This is a skill that most schools rarely teach their students and it later hunt them when the need for such skills arises.

In lie of the above, although academic is critical and important to the survival of everyone during adulthood, the impact of non-academic aspect can not be over emphasized. The non-academic aspect is vast and covers a broad range that is inexhaustible but with the little points i highlighted above, I believe its enough a reason for schools to do more to prepare their students for the non-academic aspect of adulthood.