People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively

The author wants to convey that the people should question the rules of the authority instead of accepting them passively.Here the the authority can be referred to the government, organisation, institution or society. As these bodies are governed by the elected or non-elected members and they impose the rules on the constituent members which are expected to be followed.

However, this sort of hierarchial mechanism engenders to many issues that are to be addressed. First of all, if the rules set by any authority violates the basic human rights of any constituent member or members then strictly those rules must be questioned and opposed straight away. Since the main aim of any organisation or institution must to be to protect the basic and fundamental rights of it's members and members should see that these shouldn't be violated.

Secondly, any organisation need to be accountable to it's members. Accountability brings transparency into the system thereby increasing the trust of organisation both inside and outside the organisation. So the organisation's rules must be questioned for what is intended or expected outcome from the rule. This also brings sense of responsibility among the members which increases the goodwill of the organisation.

That said, there are situations where it is best to not question the rules. In the matters of sensitive data it's better to not question the rules set by authority instead follow the rules for the overall good of the institution. Many of the countries where dynastic rulers or dictatorial rulers have shown a lot of progress when compared to the democratic rule.

Finally,the organisation is build on the fundamental of protecting and supporting it's members. For Organisation to progress the members should develop the sanity to question the rules of authority when they are violating the rights of the fellow members. They should also follow the trivial rules of the organisation for the development of organisation.