People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human beings are said to be emotional by nature and there are a great number of emotions that characterize and inform our behavior. Some argue for the importance of staying phlegmatic and impartial in making decisions while others claim that emotions constitute an integral part in doing so. This is clearly a subjective and controversial topic in nature, but a quick reflection on cases in which emotion serves as a deterrent reveals that making decisions in an emotional state and proceeding to justify them afterwards can be detrimental.

If we examine this topic in the context of religion, it is not uncommon to hear a religious leader such as priests to make statements charged with emotion and, later on, justify them with God-related logic. For instance, a priest in the US was harshly criticized for arguing that natural disasters such as hurricanes were a direct result of God punishing "adulterating morality" in the US, including the expansion of women's reproductive rights as well as LGBTQ rights. Critics argued, due to the lack of scientific logic behind this statement, that it was solely his hatred and bigotry against women and LGBTQ individuals that led to this assertion and that he was using God only as a means to justify this emotion. As this case shows, it stands to reason, then, that drawing an emotion-filled conclusion first and rationalizing it later can turn out to be objectionable.

Similarly, it is well-known in the business world that reason and logic are ultimately what informs best business decisions. If a CEO only relies on his or her emotions to decide whether to hire his or her employees, it can invite considerable trouble as these decisions should be made purely based on merit. While it is not unusual to see plausible explanations to justify these emotion-based decisions, they tend to create distrust against management, which can have an immense impact on the HR affairs of the corporation. In this manner, it is not advisable for individuals to make decisions based on emotion and proceed to rationalize them afterwards.

Yet, while the cases above clearly demonstrate the danger of the presented statement, we cannot go as far to argue that emotion is always a deterrent to wise decisions. Emotions are an important trait that can play a vital role in certain decisions. To illustrate, for a leader that runs a non-profit organization that helps the needy, compassion is often one of the drivers that ultimately motivates him or her. This underlying emotion can serve as a guiding principle to make certain decisions, such as expanding services to increase outreach efforts despite the fact that it may result into loss for the organization. It appears important to note, consequently, that emotion-based decisions can be instrumental in certain contexts.

In summary, while there are numerous arguments to be made for both sides, the cases of individuals in the religious and business contexts exemplify the ways in which emotionally charged decisions can be detrimental in spite of the attempt to justify them afterwards.