Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Throughout history, one achievement after another has considerably made our life better. In the discussion of achievement, some argue that influential figures such as rulers, artists, or scientists make a better contribution while others more emphasize the existence of ordinary people. A quick reflection on several social aspects, ranging from civil rights to economy, reveals the idea that the surest indicator of a great nation is not necessarily the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

One example that is contrary to the statement is demonstrated by civil rights. While some may associate civil rights with rulers in that it is sometimes their decision to implement something that improves civil rights, it can be also a result of efforts of the nation's people. Same-sex marriage, for instance, has been lately debated a great deal in the U.S. If we see the current status of civil rights for same-sex couples in contrast to that of twenty years ago, it is evident that they have improved. Considering how it was not those in power but rather the nation's people that initiated this radical movement through a great deal of protest, debate, and so on, it is fair to argue that great achievements by a nation's citizens can lead to a good life for some of the nation's people, even if it is not the majority.

While civil rights are one significant example that indicates a nation's people can contribute to the overall welfare of the nation, middle-class working people also give the credence to this view. For example, while it is well-known that Japan experienced a significant growth in the 1980's, a number of corporations in the nation did expand as well. Given how a economic growth of a nation can be greatly stimulated by its corporations, it seems fair to say that those who work in these times contribute to the overall growth as well. Indeed, although a significant economic growth is often attributed to a policy that a nation's leader implements, the existence of those "behind-the-scenes" people should not be ignored.

Yet, although the examples above illustrate the idea that the proposed claim is not necessarily the case, we cannot go as far to conclusively argue that such influential figures as rulers, artists, or scientists do not play a role in the improvement of a nation. A number of scientific discoveries, for example, have enhanced the quality of life for nations. Medical advancement indeed resulted in better longevity in modern times. Technology has changed a considerable amount of aspects in our daily life. Therefore, as the statement claims, great achievements by those people in power and privilege can naturally lead to a better life of a nation. Yet again, we should not forget the fact that such scientific achievements have been also the result of assistance of ordinary people.

In summary, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, the cases of gay-marriage and middle-class people clearly support the idea that great achievements that ensure a good life in a nation can be made by its people. In addition, as the example of scientific discoveries demonstrates, there are always ordinary people behind such great achievements.