The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the presented memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore recommends that the chain reduce its operating hours across the board as a means to improve profits. At first sight, the argument appears logical; however, on closer inspection, it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions that lack clarity and evidence. Had the owner reviewed and adjusted this recommendation in consideration of the following points, he or she could make a more compelling case for it.

One of the shortcomings of the argument involves the assertion that raising prices is not a good option. The owner makes this assumption without citing any evidence, rendering the argument suspect. As it stands, there remains the possibility that rising prices may be in fact a feasible and sound business strategy. For instance, had the owner conducted a customer survey asking about its current price level, preferably coupled with market research on the average market price, he or she could learn that increasing prices may not affect the profit level. Reducing operating hours, on the other hand, could turn out to be a risky move. Consequently, in order to address these potential concerns, the owner should provide specific evidence to support the assertion that raising prices is not an feasible option.

Moreover, another point of contention worth considering is the assumption that the cited case of the store in Marston is applicable to all other Movie Galore stores. While the inclusion of this type of specific case studies is recommended, there is no information to support this extrapolation as there are potentially many aspects that are only unique to Marston in relation to the implied success. For instance, the majority of clients in Marston may be working professionals who only work until 4 p.m., making it possible for them to go to the store even after this change in operating hours. On the other hand, if the operating hours are drastically reduced as suggested, the clients who work after the new closing time in other areas may become no longer go to the stores. It would be advisable for the owner, then, to provide specific evidence to demonstrate that Marston is similar to other stores in relevant and critical elements such as the demographics.

Lastly, the fact that Marston received “very few customer complaint” requires a careful examination. In citing this fact, the owner appears to assume that the small number of customer complaints means that the majority of customers were satisfied with the policy change. This assumption that the recommendation hinges upon cannot be fully supported for two reasons. First, it is unclear how many complaints constitutes “very few customer complaints” and whether they are fully representative of the client base. If the “very few customer complaints” were a group complaint representing the majority of the clients, for example, this dismissive attitude could jeopardize the store. Second, it is also possible that the majority of the customers were in fact dissatisfied with the policy change, yet never bothered to submit a complaint. In order for the argument to have more validity, therefore, the owner should clarify both the quantity and contents of the few complaints while proving that this result means that the majority of its customers were not at least dissatisfied with the new policies.

In summary, while the argument is not entirely invalid, it is rife with assumptions that could seriously undermine the validity of the business recommendation. It could be corroborated if the owner provided specific and relevant evidence to address the aforementioned points.