People who pursue their own intellectual interests for purely personal reasons are more likely

to benefit the rest of the world than are people who try to act for the public good.

In society every people have different interest, goal, and ideas which are different from others. However, interest may differ but if the interest or the goal is not considered for the whole world success is fruitless. I agree with the author statement for some reason which is descibed below.

First of all, working alone for his owns personal interest a person may be a success but at the end the success will be no longer valid. It may be difficult to achieve a success considering the whole world but ultimately the success lasting forever. For instances, a researcher developed a portable drinking filter instrument and become successful with his idea. But, the validation of the instrument is questionable because the filter is not designed to considering the condition of the area. Moreover, the water condition is not known by the researcher does not consider the affordability of the filter. Thus, the invention may be successful for own interest but not for as a whole.

Secondly, a similar thing happens to the political issue. For example, India was ruled by the British for more than 200 years and became freedom in 1947. The great leader Mahatma Gandhi who was the pioneer of the movement. If he thought of his own interest and not working for the whole county then India could never be free. Moreover, this leader was so educated and he could live in another country and could make a comfortable life but, he chose the public interest and involved in the movement.

However, we all know about the Newton who was a popular scientist and the inventor of gravity. His invention was only for his own interest because he wanted to know why the apple falls in the ground. Though he was not thinking about firstly for the public benefit but, at the end it was a great invention and reveal so many mysterious knowledge. Another is Tomas Alfa Addison who was the inventor of the electricity. His invention was also of this own interest and he also inventor of more than a hundred of the new equipment. Thus, the invention may own interest but at the end if the invention is not public benefit it will be useless.

To conclude, every issue has pros and cons and we must carefully consider of such thing. If anyone tries to hard to introduce the better there is always something behind of it. However, personal interest is essential for the encouragement and if the benefit is not considered for the public the success is not efficacious.