A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

The assertion recommends us to uphold a person's civil rights if he commits a crime knowingly. I mostly disagree with the prompt one must not go unpunished if the person attempts a crime which he is fully aware, but a person wouldn't commit a crime unless there are certain situations, I would like to support my claim with two reasons.

To start with, if a person knowingly commits a crime there must be a strong motive behind it, one which makes him to do awful things. To illustrate, consider a well renowned hollywood actor Jessy Smollet. He plotted a hate crime against himself, He made himself get attacked by his own bodyguards because he want public to have sympathy for him. Inturn, this can help him in getting high paid check. Finally, jessy was caught by police and got arrested for the crime. A person like him shouldn't be using his rights again.

On the contrary, many black hat hackers commit crime knowingly, but they do it basically for public interest. For example, consider recently published "Panama leaks" hackers found many politicians doing shady things like, public money laundering, illegal constructions, proscribed trading of animals. Even though, hackers committed a crime they did it for public welfare. Hence, people who commit crimes for development of nation shouldn't get stripped of their civil rights. Instead, reasonable thought should be given for them.

To conclude, people don't commit crime unless there are some external factors. one must not jump to conclusions directly, instead reasonable thought must be given for them.