The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County.

In the editorial from the newspaper, it is stated that hunting is the primary reason of decline in bird population especially dappled grackle, hence the author concludes the assertion by opting against Gordon Act unless rules are amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne Country. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, author assumes Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population, perhaps birds other than grackle are injured and the decline of other birds are not evaluated by the County officials. Further, maybe more number of grackle dead went unnoticed by the officials. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

secondly, author from his conclusion assumes hunting is the main reason for the decline of bird population. perhaps, birds may die because of excessive heat, lack of drinking water or other natural phenomenons. Moreover, the people of Wayne County are far sympathetic for wildlife compared to Broomal County. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is unable to answer the questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully check the viability of the proposed recommendation.