A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A convicted criminal, no matter for what reason they have been convicted, but if their sentence allows them to be once again a part of the society then it would not be ethical to hinder their rights. A criminal can commit a crime for multiple reasons and there's no certainty of whether or not they will fall back into their own detrimental habits. Respecting the right that we as a society has assigned to every person living within the society it is necessary to work on a stringent but not deleterious basis.

The convicted person might have become a miscreant to support his family and saw no better means to serve their family. The person might be the only source of bread to the family and deemed committing a felony appropriate. People like such, who knowingly commit a crime, but have a survival-based motivation on their back must be given a chance to put their life in order. They need to be taught on the ethical ways of living in a society, and maybe should be given a bit of financial support to achieve stability.

However, the scenario I have mentioned above might not be the case of every person. There are some minds who work in contorted manners. These people commit a crime for no moral reason like manifesting a terror attack and some are just evil-minded people who like to create chaos. It won't be a good idea to allow such weeds to thrive in society because of the risk they carry around with them of the lives and property of other people. They need to be kept under minimal conditions so that they don't achieve the wiggle room to do ant other detrimental tasks.

Man can sometimes lose their way in the constant race of getting success in life. When the point comes to the brink of survival, they believe crime is their way out of this misery. But this capricious thinking can be treated and it is possible to kill the virus residing in their conscious which opts for malfeasance rather than hard work. A man should be allowed to learn from his mistakes and should try to learn how to live life in a better way. Rather than snatching away their rights but providing them an opportunity to rebuild their character and redress their mistake can prove helpful to both the convict and the society.

Thus, it is necessary to provide someone with a second chance in their life after they are made aware of the effects their action has on society and having them atone from it. But this has an exception because sometimes it is just necessary to exterminate a pest rather than trying to cure the field.