“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager argues that the loss of advertising revenues and viewers is due to the fact of lack of screen time to weather and local news during late-night programs. While the arguments can be true, the reasons provided by the manager are not enough to come to a staunch conclusion. The manager refers to the complaints they have received from their viewers and dwindling of advertisements as an indicator for people's discontentment on the lack of weather and local news. Following are some unanswered questions, if provided with strong evidence, can help the manager to make his argument a valid one.

The manager mentions that since the past year, the late-night news program has devoted more time to national news and less time to weather and local news. The argument does not provide us with the reason for which this change was made in the past year. It can be true that in the past years the station had received a bunch of complaints stating the lack of national news during the same time. The station acting on it allotted the national news segment the position of weather news. It is necessary to know the purpose behind the change of news in the previous year so as to not duplicate the mistakes which have happened before.

Secondly, the Manager in his argument states the reason for the local businesses, which use to advertise on their late-night programs and are now canceling their contracts, as the lack of weather news and local news in that time segment. Now, the author does not provide us with statements from the local businesses stating the same and just predicts that this might be the case. It can also be possible that there are other reasons for the businesses to pull out from their advertising contracts like not seeing any growth in their businesses despite heavy advertising. It can also be possible that they have found a better deal at other television stations which is more lucrative for them. Putting the blame of the decline of the advertisements directly on the lack of weather news on station seems ludicrous if not provided with statements of the business stating the same.

Another thing is, the argument says that in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues it should restore the time devoted to the weather and local news to its former level. This can backfire because of the viewers of national news which is currently being covered on the channel. If the number of viewers who watches the late-night show just to know about the national news is appreciable then changing its position can lead to a further loss for the television station. To be able to assure the attraction of more viewers the argument needs to provide with statistical data on the number of viewers who currently enjoy watching the national news and compare it to the complaints it has received about the reverse.

These are some questions which require answering or relevant evidence so as to strengthen the argument. If the argument is able to provide with the relevant answers then it can be safe to blame the decline of the number of viewers and advertisements on the lack of coverage of weather and local news on the night-show news.