Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument tries to put global warming under the noose as a reason for the declining of Arctic Deer’s population in Canada’s Arctic region. This statement can be true but the evidence provided by the argument stating the same cannot be taken as a reliable source of veracity. The argument, by referring to the reports provided by the local hunters and seeing the trends of global warming in the region tries to draw concomitance between two events, the latter being the reason for the former. But before coming to that conclusion it is necessary to clear out the following three points of contention.

First of all, the report provides us with the necessary condition required for the survival of the Arctic Deer. This condition being, requiring the habitat to be warm enough to produce plants which are their primary intake and cold enough to freeze the sea ice which they use for migration. It can very well be possible that the temperature in the Canadian Arctic’s have not increased but decreased to such an extent that it does not allow the plants to thrive. Lack of the primary source of the food can also be the reason for the decline of their population. To solve this, reports stating the habitat’s temperatures are required to achieve the surety about the reason behind the fall of deer’s population.

Secondly, the decline of population is based on the reports provided by the local hunters of that region. A report from an authority which cannot be trusted should not be used to base your argument on. These reports can be contorted so as to dissemble any misdeeds caused by the hunters themselves. It can be possible that the hunters are dealing with some illegal trafficking of deer and may have provided with a canard report. If the reports were provided by a trustworthy source, preferably by someone working under the government’s authority then it can be deemed as a paragon. Reports provided by the local hunters can be full of malice and should not be used as a deciding factor.

And lastly, the argument fails to provide with reasons why there cannot be some other reasons for the population decline. There can be a scenario where packs of other predators, like Polar Bears or Arctic Wolves have infested the local habitat of the deer and are hunting them down. Another possible reason can be a disease outbreak in that province which is spreading throughout their species and causing their death. The argument needs to provide with strong reports which deny the probability of such aforementioned events taking place in order to put the bullet of the blame on global warming.

So, if the argument is able to provide the evidence which is required then it will be safe to say that the decline of population is indeed due to the global warming’s prevalence in the area. But until then the argument does not carry much value.