A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

Most of the tasks in the world require the knowledge of multidisciplinary subjects for efficient working. It would be ludicrous to just learn a particular discipline and expecting it to be sufficient. Every single aspect of a study is connected to some form of another which have their own way of working and their own domain of behavior. It is true that, ' A jack of all but master of none' is a saying used to emphasize the need to master a single study and not just be an amateur in multiple ones, but it is half complete because it is quite essential to have basic knowledge on topics which are related to your specialization. The study of liberal arts helps in building more humane character, by developing necessary knowledge on less technical studies.

Universities are at the forefront as a medium to provide a platform for students to gain knowledge on any subjects requires. The education provided by the universities plays a major role in shaping an individual's life as well as the development of the society they are situated in. However, a student should take individual efforts to achieve knowledge related to his specialized discipline. But, being caught in the hectic life of being a university student, they hardly get time to get deviated from their routine course work. Thus, it becomes very important for the university to not get pedantic towards the specialized study of a specific discipline. Providing a spectrum of courses which does not just qualify under their specialized courses helps the student to achieve knowledge about the topics like liberal arts may prove important to them in further future or useful in their daily work life or when they enter their job life.

A student, however determined, is a student. He is still green and not aware of the entire web of subjects he may or may not be beneficial to him in the future. The fledgling brain seldom accounts for every aspect they'd be dealing with when choosing for their specialized study. By studying the single discipline with the pure focus he may be able to master that particular field but just pure theoretical knowledge is not sufficient to excel in their life. It is very important to learn from courses like of History about the mistakes made by people, and how not to fall into the same hole or from Philosophy which lets you question about the existence of life and human behavior and other bigger than life topics. These courses develop character and can also bring in a novel air of knowledge deviating from the monotonous study of their single discipline course.

A University which provides with liberal arts courses aren't just nurturing a robot who is capable of doing a particular task, it is developing a human who is capable of excelling in the study he has studied and also has a variety of knowledge which makes them humane, by understanding human behavior through courses of liberal arts.