The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is arguing that the decline in the viewers of their movie is due to the lack of promulgation of the positive reviews that they have received on their movies and thus requires a greater share in the budget to prevent a repetition in the upcoming year. While the reason for the decline of the movie-goers might be true, the argument does not provide a complete and sound justification for the same. Following are some of the assumptions made in the argument which needs to be brought under the light.

Firstly, the report provided by the marketing department of the production company states that the number of viewers of their movies are lower than there had been in any other year. But they do not provide with any data which tells us about the number of viewers of the whole movie industry in general. It can be possible that the trend of watching movie by visiting the theater has been declining. In the era where online streaming agencies are proliferating, it can be possible that the viewers have stopped taking troubles to visit cinemas for any movies altogether when a more comfortable alternative is present in front of them. This can be confirmed if the number of total movie goers also sees a sharp drop. This data is necessary for the argument to keep its point valid.

Furthermore, The argument says that the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen produced movies have increased during the past year. Well, it can be possible that the percentage has been increased because only true fanatics of the production house have visited the movies. These reviews can belie the true quality of the movie because of originating from a biased mind. It is necessary to know if the reviews are generated by an impartial movie critic bodies or by some fawn of the production house to judge the true nature of the movie.

And finally, the arguments states that the problem lies not within the quality of their movies but in the lack of public awareness of the good reviews of the movie. But, it can be possible that the initial trailers and promotional events failed to create the necessary impact on the minds of the public so as to convince them to watch these movies. Even if a movie receives good reviews, if it fails to impress the public by their promos then it can lead to people giving a blind eye to the positive reviews and skip the movie. It is equally important to improve the quality of the movie and it cannot be neglected.

These above are some of the assumptions made by the advertising director and the Production Company should clear the same with the marketing department in order to be able to decide that whether the marketing department deserves a greater share from the budget or there can be a better alternative present to improve the situation.