Present your perspective on the issue below, "In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books.

In today's world, Television on TV plays a crucial role in our lives. Staring in the morning with the morning exercises/yoga channels to daily soaps/cartoons/movies in the afternoon to sports in the evening and daily news at night; it has become a constant companion. And for all age groups. There is no denying the effects on TV in the modern household. Every member of the family has his/her own needs from the TV. It is not just a source of entertainment but also an instrument of knowledge. The diverse and eclectic range of channels provided by the cable companies ensure that we get the most dynamic and freshest of contents to satiate our hunger for content. This does inspire the question that is TV replacing books? It is obvious since today children can derive their knowledge from the various channels like National Geographic and History channel and Discovery. Today's tech-savvy generation are more fond of the electrically charged LCD panel for their dose of information than scribbles on old papers bind together. Still, no matter how progress Television makes in diversifying its content, books will always continue to be the main source of knowledge and information and reading as an activity is not going to fade out any time soon.

Today, in many parts of the world, poverty prevails. The people don't have basic amenities like food or drinking water. Still, government tries to uplift such areas through measures like rehabilitation, free education and other. Now a TV can't succeed here because it isn't a viable solution. Where people don't have water and electricity, there one can't imagine to install a TV in every house to provide kids with the much needed knowledge, in place of books. Not to mention, one can't assure that a delicate piece of equipment like a TV will be able to survive harsh conditions. Books are a necessity in these scenario since they are cost-effective and long lasting. A drop from a table won't hurt a book but it might break a TV. Also, for the price of a single TV, there can be books for many. Thus reading is imperative in such a condition and hence books prevail over TV.

A book, by its inherent design offer certain advantages over a TV. It is lightweight and portable. Hence you can enjoy your favourite book during your ride to the office via the public transport. Also, books are not active content like a TV. They can be paused and resumed as per the readers whim. You can miss a "Egypt Special" on Discovery but you will never miss a page of your book since you can start and stop whenever you like. Also, the activity of reading has far wide reaching social implications than just imparting knowledge. People bond over books and reading sessions. People with similar taste in books bond irrespective of race, caste or religion which is a big win for humanity. Reading clubs exist to promote socialisation between readers and also to interchange information and expand the base of their knowledge. Thus books will always continue to outweigh Television and reading will be a prominent activity in the future too.

Still, it will be unwise to discredit TV from all its pros. TV offers a diverse range of content which can help to expand our knowledge pool as well as stay updated on the current scenario of that field/topic. Many shows are designed for children which promotes education in the form of popular games thus making education more attractive and easy to learn. From Do-it-yourself cooking shows to car/bike review shows to tips on financial investment, TV is continually improving the lives of the common people without any extra effort or cost. Television, as the name aptly suggests, truly expand our vision beyond the horizon and make the world available at our fingertips to explore.

In conclusion, the physical and economic factors make books ubiquitous and hence it is the tool with which we start our journey for knowledge. Also, books help in breaking down socio-economic barriers between people and bring them together. Thus although TV will be our friend, books will be our guide and reading will be our favourite past time.