The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue here of the musician's real talent will be assessed only he or she has been dead for several generations is a contentious one. Though both sides has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that the real talent of a musician can be identified and even appreciated even when he is alive.

First of all, let's take an example of a small child, who has a gifted natural talent of playing musical instruments. His parents come to know about it at his very young age and they put him in music classes so that his ability of playing instruments is further enhanced. Thus after growing up he can become a famous musician and his talent will be seen and appreciated by everyone. He could even become a child sensation if he is trained in that way.

Furthermore, the real talent of a musician can be assessed by the quality of songs he or she sings and by the response he or she receive from the people of his country or world. If the musician is famous then his or her talent is already been assessed and judged by the people and because of this arbitration he or she has received his fame. Why will a musician rise to fame if his or her assessment was not honest?

To add to this, if we see examples of great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, who have done great deed to gain independence for India, were all known to people when they were alive. Their assessment of their deeds were done at that very moment. But they are still remembered, even after several generations, for their good work.

We can thus say if the talent is assessed at the initial stage itself then it gives a direction to life and then life becomes simpler and much smoother. If a person knows what he has to become in future, he will direct all his energy in fulfilling his dream. If this talent is not identified then anyone would rise to fame through wrong means and the real talented people would never get a chance to come forward with their talent.

But there is another side to this, if people are not aware on how to assess the talent of a person or they don't have adequate resources for it, then it leads to inaccurate decision. For example, there was a painter who had done a lot of paintings in his life but his paintings became famous only after years of his death, the reason being people at that time did not know how to appreciate such talent.

In conclusion, I would say if the real talent of a musician is assessed at that time itself i.e when he or she is alive, it will be honest judgement since his or her fame should not belie his talent. Even if the talent is assessed after several generations of his or her death it would be of no use.