Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

It is necessary for a person to have knowledge regarding various issues and fields in this knowledge-driven world.The best way to gain knowledge is to have a knowledge regarding various other fields apart from the field in which one is doing his/her majors.If one also has the knowledge regarding various other fields then it can be utilized efficiently in routine life and in a pragmatic way.

The universities should encourage students to gain knowledge apart from their curriculum courses in order to encourage true learning and by doing so one can become truly educated.The universities should organize various programs related to other fields which are different from one's majors so that the students can participate in them and thus they can gain knowledge regarding the applications of subjects related to other fields.

People who have knowledge regarding other fields can identify the problems which can crop up in their fields by relating them to various other fields.Students with knowledge regarding other fields will be able to solve the problems in a much more practical way and thus they will be able to utilize that in their own majors.For example-If a student from computer background has the knowledge regarding the subjects related to electrical field then it can be of significant help in solving problems.

By studying various other courses one can correlate one's major field with the other fields.For example-If a student from civil engineering has the knowledge of mechanical field then it helps in correlating both the fields with each other and thus one can identify dependencies and independencies of both the fields.

By gaining knowledge relating to various other fields one can become erudite and thus it can be helpful from one's career prospective.For example- Students having more knowledge various fields will be more likely to quickly find solutions regarding the problems in their lives.

While having knowledge regarding other fields can be one of the ways of becoming truly educated ,there can be other ways too by which one can become truly educated.So the best way to become truly educated can be that other way also.One can also become truly educated by identifying common people's problems and then solving them with respect to their fields.

Thus,the knowledge regarding various courses other than the one's major field of study can be immensely helpful in gaining expertise regarding one's major field and it can also contribute significantly in making a person truly educated.The knowledge regarding other courses can thus be one of the best ways to become truly educated.It demonstrates one's aspect of thinking and it shows how much knowledge one can gain in one's life.