Scandals are useful because they focus our attention to problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

Societal problems that need fixing often require public support, which requires the masses to be informed of these problems in the first place. Scandals are a swift and sure method of getting this done. With a few exceptions that are discussed later, scandals aid the process of reform, and are an invaluable tool in the collective hands of a population.

Scandals make an amazing use of the grape-vine, the earliest mass communication channel known to mankind, which is an intrinsic, indispensible element of human society. Thus, information flows naturally and no resources are expended for its dissemination. Conscious efforts to spread awareness, on the other hand, are an expensive affair and are met with passivity from the vast majority. However, it must be noted, that scandals are inherently local in nature, and unlike awareness campaigns, will not have the same efficacy outside of their geographical area of origin.

In stead of seeing scandals as an alternative method of putting problem into the spotlight, we ought to think of them as just another way of sparking the conversation that will ultimately be carried forward by speakers and acted upon by reformers, without whom change is neigh on impossible. In this way, scandals perform the role of bringing a sense of urgency to the general public and sparking the fire of revolutions. Actions that might have taken months if not years, are hastily brought about in the light of a recent scandal. An example of this would be the gravity of rape culture in India, which recieved more attention than ever since the horrifying Nirbhaya case came to light.

Although scandals are thus helpful in instigating discussion, they sometimes have the opposite effect. In case of celebrities like Indian actor Salman Khan, who in the eyes of the public can do no harm, scandals worth discussing are simply swept under the rug and no action is taken for years. In stead of spurring the public into action, discussions take the wrong turn and everything except the enormity of the actor's crimes is speculated upon. Such scandals have little to no positive effects on society.

In conclusion, scandals can benefit society if discussions surrounding them are focused in the right direction, usually due to the efforts of speakers and reformers. If not, however, they serve no useful purpose than gossip fodder. Even then, speakers and reformers can and do outperform scandals in bringing attention to societal problems, especially for large-scale problems that affect many people spread over large areas.